How to choose a career?

doesYourCareerChoseYou

Special credit to: King sidharth.

Albert Einstein once said ”Everybody is a genius. But, if you judge a fish by its ability to climb a tree it will live its whole life believing that it is stupid.”

The same goes for us. Our families expect us so much. But, it’s not that easy. It is not like that , An engineer’s son will be an engineer and a doctor’s son will be a doctor. Everyone has different potential and capabilities.

Often, student’s get messed up and give up choosing a career that they are not interested. Which lead’s to overall regret for the rest of their life and nothing more than sadness.

You may get good at your job but, it looks like a burden. Daily going to office and returning home with sadness. Money is not all, it is not going to make you happy.

The theory of happiness says, A calm and modest life brings more happiness than pursuit of success combined with constant restlessness,”Albert Einstein

Have you decided your career?

No, If yes then how did you figured it out. I hope not after watching the last James bond movie or you just planned to set up a company after watching the wolf of the wall street.

Sometimes it happens with me too. Being a high school student I can understand your situation.

Some people tell you to follow your passion.But, do you know your passion keeps on changing. What you were passionate about 5 yrs ago, You might not be passionate about it now. And, after 5 yrs from now who knows what you will be passionate about.

I remember people telling me to make my hobby as my career. I found it a wise choice. But, again it stuck me. As, I am having so many hobbies. And , it keeps on changing.

As a kid I liked art and craft. But, now I do not like it much. I am much more interested in computer science and sports.

So, it was a silly idea.

Check this video, Todd has explained it clearly :https://youtu.be/MKlx1DLa9EA

I searched whole google.But, it was all filled with stupid shit except some.

How-Millennials-Describe-Career-Success.001

I did a lot of research about the topic. Finally I got some good information. The thing we all guys were missing was Not knowing ourselves completely. Yes, the first step for choosing a great career was to find yourself. It might sound silly. But, it is true .

You can do it by following three steps –

  • Read
  • Write
  • Travel

These tips were given by King sidharth. I contacted him and asked him about career choice .


He replied,

Hey Ayush,
Congratulations on the blog! Keep writing.
Thinking about your career in high school is usually super confusing.
I remember when I was in high school I was just starting to explore my interest, and they expected me to choose what I will do for the rest of my life

😰

Looking back all I want to tell myself is, “Relax! you will be fine”.
There are 2 important things to understand (in my opinion):
1. Cost of Switching “Streams”
At your level, there will be some streams along the lines of— Medical, Non-Medical Sciences, Commerce and Arts.
The real difference is the cost of switching streams later in life:
For example, trying to switch from Non-Medical Sciences to Medical in your college is difficult.
But switching from either of the sciences to Commerce or Arts is relatively easy.
2. Making a Choice
If you’re still in dilemma. Choose the path of least regrets.
Project your possible options 10 years into the future (use your imagination!)
And see which one has the most interesting and least regretful option to you.
So if you’re not good at something, would you regret making an effort to improve 10 years later? Or would you regret not making an effort?
Sorry for the long answer. And probably this isn’t exactly what you were looking for.
If that confused you more, forget about what I said.
And just remember that you don’t have to make the “right decision”. You can take a decision and make it “right”.

Thanks, Sidharth for the advice.

So, I hope by now your doubt must have cleared. You can always make your decision right . And, for any query regarding about same. Mail me, I will be happy to help you out.


Leave a comment